Slide Crosses S

Sa Through Sz Crosses

st ninoclrSaint Nino: The "St. Nino" cross, also known as the Grapevine Cross, is a major symbol of the Georgian Orthodox Church since the 4th century AD. Saint Nino was a Cappadocian woman who preached Christianity in Iberia. Legend says the Virgin Mary gave St. Nino the grapevine cross. santiagoclrSantiago: The "Santiago" cross is the emblem of the Order of Santiago which was founded in the 12th century. serpentclrSerpent: The "Serpent" cross, also known as the Snake Cross or Medical Cross. A Serpent Cross as a crucifix may indicate victory over the Devil.
Shrouded Cross
Shrouded: The "Shrouded Cross" - also known as the Draped Cross, Empty Cross, Risen Cross or Resurrection Cross is adorned with the burial shroud draped over the cross symbolic of Christ rising from the dead.
Snowflake Cross
Snowflake: Snowflake Cross - is adorned with symmetrical arrangements of smaller crosses each representing Christian symbolim. The central, or main cross refers to Christianity's outreach to the four corners of the world. The pairs of smaller crosses on the main crossbeam represent the outstretched hands of Jesus Christ. The top three small crosses represent the Trinity and the crosses of Calvary.
St. Andrews Cross AKA Saltire or crux decussata
St. Andrews: St. Andrew Cross - also known as the Saltire or crux decussata. A national symbol of Scotland, it is an X-shaped cross associated with St. Andrew, the patron of Scotland.
St. Peter Cross
St. Peter: St. Peter's Cross - also known as Satan's cross, is an inverted cross upon which St. Peter is believed to have been crucified upside down at his own request because he didn't feel worthy to be executed in the same manner as Jesus. Many Christian sects cross to symbolize humility.
St. Gilbert Cross
St. Gilbert: St. Gilbert Cross - also known as the Portate Cross, is diagonal to depict the suffering a victim endured carrying the cross-bar over his shoulder and dragging it along the ground to the crucifixion site.
st jamesclrSt. James: St. James the Greater Cross - is formed out of the Fleurie Cross, this cross represents the Patron of the Order of Saint James of Compostela. This military order of knights protected pilgrims who were visiting St. James's shrine.
St. Johns Cross
St. Johns: St. John's Cross - also known as the Pateé Cross. The St. John's Cross is also known also as the Maltese, Regeneration, Fishtail, Campaign and Iron Cross. In many religions the number Eight symbolizes regeneration, therefore it is also sometimes called the Regeneration Cross.
St. Julian Cross
St. Julian: "St. Julian" cross - also called The Missionary's Cross, is a Crosslet rotated at 45 degrees with ends pointing to the "four corners of the world". It is referred to as the Missionary Cross because St. Julian is a patron saint of travelers.
St. Nicholas Cross
St. Nicholas: St. Nicholas Cross - also known as St. Olga's Cross. St. Nicholas, due to his charity and concern for the welfare of children, was the inspiration for Santa Clause. St. Nicholas is an extremely popular saint especially with Eastern Catholics and the Orthodox.
Star Messianic Cross
Star Messianic: Star or Messianic Cross - The Star Cross symbolises Christianity as being central to Judaism. Used by Jewish Christians who retain their Jewish heritage yet believe in Salvation through Jesus Christ.
Sun Cross
Sun: The "Sun" cross, also referred to as Pagan, Solar, Wheel, Odin's Cross or Woden's Cross. The Sun cross could be humankind's first cross symbol.